Sierra Nevada Adventures Reviews

Rated 4.9 out of 5

based on 51 Reviews

Leave Us A Review
I have been riding motorcycles since I was a kid. One thing I have learned throughout the years of riding street, road racing, and dirt is that you can always learn more. I recently purchased my first big "adventure" bike, a new BMW GS. Having only ridden smaller to midsized dirt and enduro bikes, the GS was a bit intimidating off-road. Mark's class took my confidence on the new bike to the next level. His training offers several training opportunities that, without his guidance, would have taken me a lot longer to learn on my own- if ever. Thanks for building my confidence and teaching me some valuable skills Mark! I look forward to joining you on a ride sometime this year.
02/26/2024 by Scott Zuschin
View On Google
OK - you can read all the accolades below in all the other reviews....and I fully concur with all of them. So the huge takeaway for me on this is that I CAN still do this well and have a ton of fun, and potentially at a pretty high level, given that I continue to ride and PRACTICE all that was taught. At 67 years and not having ridden for the last 40 I had the IDEA that I can still ride. A 450 lb bike with 74 HP is a lot different from 200lbs and maybe 20HP that I could throw around when I was 20! Learning the proper techniques and really applying them - game changer. If you want to learn how to do this safely and enjoyably, this is a great place to be.
01/29/2024 by Fred White
View On Google
It’s been a great year of ADV riding thanks to SNA! Having been off a bike for 35 years I jumped back on in late 2022 and have been on numerous rides in 2023. Mark’s rides are well organized, skill level appropriate and FUN! And always filled with great people. I’m looking forward to seeing where SNA rides take me in 2024….
10/31/2023 by Jeff
View On Google
I’ve gone on a few single day rides and two 3-day rides with Mark and just participated in his Next Level ADV training. Regardless of the event/format, Mark runs a well organized itinerary, paced so that no one feels rushed or pushed beyond their capability/comfort unless they want to be. Mark shares his ample knowledge of the various bike brands, tools and tricks as well as history of the various points of interest visited on his rides.
10/17/2023 by RJ Fleischmann
View On Google
Prior experience: A few years ago, I got a GS and it seemed disingenuous to not attempt taking it off pavement. I found SNA for their training days - and chose them over other options due to how approachable and affordable the first training day was. No need to commit to multiple days, and not nearly as costly as other schools - sure the higher cost elsewhere may be justified, you might get food included or in bike rentals included - but for me, to try it out, training day with Mark on my own bike was perfect. I had zero experience off pavement, the training progressed from easier drills to more intimidating things, and by the end of first day I was doing things I wouldn’t have imagined myself doing the day before. Since then I’ve been on a half dozen rides and taken the training again on every new bike I’ve gotten (as can be seen in the pictures attached haha), progressively moving towards more dirt capable bikes. I love that I don’t have to plan the route or worry about gas stops, and I love knowing if I drop my bike there’s somebody behind me that’ll help me back up if need be. Just show up, mount up and stop thinking - just enjoy the moment, scenery and the roads. Multi-day rides also always have hotel recommendations in immediate vicinity of really good dinner places, so in addition to wonderful views there’s camaraderie to enjoy, too. Cost: I really appreciate the a la carte nature of the rides - no hotels and no food is included (read: bought for you with a markup) which is reflected in the price, so you can make your own choices. Want to pitch a tent? Definitely can. Want to get a king size bed? Available if you want. Same with food, instead of charging everyone $20 extra and getting generic not-so-amazing lunch for all, that cost is left out of the price - and you can bring whatever your heart desires. I pay SNA for the route planning and group support on the ride, I pay a hotel of my choosing for lodging, I pick my own food / coffee / snacks - and get exactly what I pay for etc. Pace: Wonderful thing about this group is that you can go at your comfortable pace - everyone will wait at intersections / non obvious forks in the road. On pavement I’m happy to run near the front of the group, ending up with maybe 5-min breaks for the rest to catch up, maybe once every 15 miles or so? On dirt, I’m still a beginner - and run at the end of the pack, so everyone waits for me and other beginners. Nobody has any qualms about swapping positions - the goal is to have fun, and you certainly have an opportunity to find your spot in the group that will match your pace for most enjoyment. Overall, highly recommend checking out SNA. What’s the worst that can happen, you might not like it - but you’re not thousands of dollars deep and on a weeklong training course - it’s just a day and it’s an affordable way to find out for yourself.
10/02/2023 by Ivan S
View On Google
Mark does an awesome job with setting up the SNA rides. I have been on 2 SNA rides and will definitely be back for more rides. I highly recommend SNA for adventure rides, it is also a great way to meet other riders in the area.
09/09/2023 by EM FL
View On Google
I've been on quite a few rides over the past several years with SNA. Inclusive of extended trips with overnight stays in places like Death Valley, Colorado, etc.. All have challenged & added to my off-road riding skills while in a safe group environment. Even if there are issues like a slashed tire Mark & his crew had all the tools & equipment necessary to leave no man/woman behind. It allows us riders to focus on the task at hand, enjoy ourselves, and make some new friends along the way. The SNA team's extensive scouting is very detailed so that they can categorize the ride difficulty accordingly, take things like gas mileage & historical site visits into account along the way, and ultimately create a route that is enjoyable by most if not all. It is no small feat considering there are usually 20+ riders involved. Thank you, Mark & team, for all that you do! My friends & I appreciate you herding us cats while ensuring our safety, and that very good times are had!!
09/08/2023 by Sean Barnacascel
View On Google
so read this very care fully ! so for 300.00 you get to play follow the leader ! no meals nothing you stop where he wants to stop, and return to where you started then go out next day and if you want a refund do to bike issues all he sez is i lost money ??? how can you loose money if every body pays for there own food gas and lodging i have gone on lots of very large rides sheetiron 4 times ridge runners 500 years ago 3 times and colorado 500 2 times all included trans port of clothes and a killer all you can eat luntch both days at half the cost i will be telling all i can about not doing one of his rides all i have stated is facts your exp. might be diff. thank you for reading
09/06/2023 by Bruce Thibault
View On Google
Sierra Nevada adventures is a great company that helps you see so many beautiful parts of America on the motorcycle. It’s always exciting and new!!
08/30/2023 by Keith Wood
View On Google
I've been on over 15 rides with Mark over the last 3 years. His rides are well thought out and he has a spectrum from easier to more challenging rides. I've been on awesome trails and seen great things that I wouldn't have on my own. His groups are always friendly and helpful if there's a bent rim or worse. Mark is an excellent rider who willingly shares advice on everything from tire pressure to cleaning a dirty bike. I'm always excited to go on another SNA ride and look forward to many more in the future.
07/02/2023 by Raul Mujica
View On Google
The few SNA rides I've been on were great experiences. They had good route selection (ratings are listed to make sure the trip is consistent with experience level of riders), very friendly fellow riders, interesting themes and historic or geographic narratives, and sweepers that help in various ways when needed.
05/23/2023 by Guy Lebanon
View On Google
Sierra Nevada Adventures is absolutely awesome!! Mark puts together breathtakingly gorgeous rides, and his knowledge of the gold country and Sierras is mind boggling. Give it a try you absolutely won't be sorry.
05/23/2023 by Dennis Williams
View On Google
Had a great advanced training session with Mark at Prairie City SVRA! Mark has a great way of breaking down complex things into simple pieces so that we can understand and try ourselves. My confidence level went up significantly. Highly recommended training!
05/22/2023 by Yashovardhana Kote
View On Google
Thanks Mark. Great training day yesterday. I got home to SF and felt like I’d finished a stage of the Dakar! You did a great job and I think we all learnt a lot. Loved the slippy conditions and so happy I didn’t drop my Tuareg.
02/26/2023 by Darragh Howard
View On Google
Just got back from my first ride with SNA. I did the Big Sur ride with a group of fifteen. There was a mix of riders on the trip with different experience levels from intermediate to expert riders. Also, a great variety of adventure bikes including; Big BMW's, many KTM's, Ducati, Husqvarna, Triumph and Honda. Mark did a excellent job leading the ride with great knowledge of the area and local history. He took the time to explain the upcoming riding terrain and stopped every few miles to regroup and account for all the riders. We rode through redwood forests, along the coast on Hwy 1, and got off road and into the dirt in the mountains of Big Sur. It was comforting to know that no man would be left behind as there was always an SNA "Sweeper" (Kevin) positioned as the last rider. A few in the group were very glad to have the "Sweeper" assist them. Overall it was an awesome experience and I will definitely ride with this outfit again.
10/17/2022 by Mark Montano
View On Google
This group is amazing and Mark really has taken a lot of time to put together not only really densely packed trail riding adventures but he also gives a lesson in history of the area that you are riding in. I think the combination of the really adventurous riding, spectacular views, and the wealth of knowledge that Mark has cultivated in each of his rides is what makes them so damn fun! The icing on the cake is that the group of people that go on these rides are really awesome too, and I have found that because the groups are just big enough there always seems to be a group for every riding level which makes it welcoming for all adventure riders. Mark also does training courses for people that are not familiar with adventure riding or just new to their bike, which is super helpful to get ready for some of the rides. I have so far done the Donner Abandoned Tunnels and the Ultimate Lost Coast Ride…they were both stellar rides and I will do them again because I had so much fun! Please check SNA out, you won’t regret it!!
09/22/2022 by R Carroll
View On Google
Great rides and great vibes!! Just coming back for one of the rides and I can’t wait to go to the next one. Multi day rides super recommended. And the ADV training will make you fell confident with your bike!
09/20/2022 by Javier Huertas
View On Google
Mark puts together great rides, price is good and all the guys I have had the pleasure to meet through his tours have been great!
02/26/2022 by Jason Smith
View On Google
The training day was fantastic! A little intimidating at first, the 4x4’s, the 2x8 plank, the sand…. By mid-morning we were riding the obstacles like pros! Thanks for making it happen.
02/08/2022 by Bill Stoermer
View On Google
Had the Adv training and Grizzly Ride with Mark! Awesome experience, great vibe and people, positivity, coaching and plenty of adventure! Highly recommend!
10/11/2021 by Skander Soltani
View On Google
Great rides and good vibes from all.Just research the ride details and difficulty before signing up
06/15/2021 by Michael Simi
View On Google
I've done two rides so far, am signed up for another and waitlisted for several more. Mark is extremely knowledgable and goes out of his way to make sure everyone has a fun safe ride. The scenery has been stunning and Mark let me know he times the rides for optimal conditions throughout the year. The training day increased my confidence and proficiency as a rider and I am able to use my bike closer to its full potential. Love SNA and will continue to ride with them!
04/20/2021 by Josh St. Laurent
View On Google
Did the Last Chance Ride out of Folsom. From beginning to end everyone had a smile. It was a beautiful day and the route was awesome. The river crossings were amazing. Mark did a super job leading everyone. Bill the “sweep/chase” rider was definitely a hit. This was my third ride and I will definitely be doing future rides with Mark. I HIGHLY recommend Sierra Nevada Adventures!
11/08/2020 by David Little
View On Google
Just got back from our Moab ride in Utah and had a blast fantastic rides and great friends to ride with. Saw a lot of southwest Utah on motorcycles that took us to many places off the pavement. Can’t wait for the next Adventure if you’re on the fence about riding with Mark don’t miss out on going to new places and meeting a great group of riders.
09/28/2020 by Bill Pritchett
View On Google
After wanting to go on one of Mark's rides for awhile I finally got the chance. We did the 3 day Cerro Gordo ride and it did not disappoint. Mark is a seasoned vet and truly cares deeply about making sure that everyone has a great time and is safe. Highly recommend.
08/30/2020 by Chris Maginn
View On Google
I had the opportunity to go on Mark's "You Bet Diggins" ride this past weekend (June 6th, 2020) and I have to say this was absolutely one of the best riding experiences I have ever had. Just a great time with super fun riding, amazing views and awesome camaraderie. Mark is such a great guy and an awesome guide. He knows the trails like the back of his hand and his intimate knowledge of the routes is matched by his vast knowledge of the history of the area. New life long member here. I am so looking forward to doing more rides with Sierra Nevada Adventures for years to come. I highly recommend giving one of his rides a try. You won't be disappointed. - Chris @cscott_photo @Newhorizons_ADV
06/09/2020 by Chris Maltese
View On Google
I have been on three rides with SNA and each have been great experiences. Twisting through American River canyons, perfecting ADV techniques at Prairie City OHV, and climbing higher and higher to 7200' outposts. I am just getting into the sport so I don't keep up with the pack but everyone is super patient and supportive. Just bring your gear, a big smile, some knobby tires, BE READY FOR ADVENTURE and you will have a blast!
01/23/2020 by Mike Whitney
View On Google
Just returned from the Colorado Ride. This was truly a bucket list ride. Mark took us to places I would never have seen otherwise. We explored amazing roads, trails and passes, and the scenery was fantastic. The group of riders that attend SNA rides is the best. We had non-stop fun on the ride. I highly recommend! A fantastic way to explore California and beyond. I've been riding with SNA for 5 years and have seen and learned more of CA than I ever would have on my own - and no worries! Just start up and follow at your own pace. A great group of riders of all experience levels joins on the rides. Always lots of fun and challenges.
03/06/2019 by Mark Ahlbom
View On Google
I have been riding with Mark and SNA since 2014. We just returned from a fantastic ride in Colorado. Mark is a road and trail wizard. He never looks at a map and there are no wrong turns. We always travel the best dirt roads, trails and off the beaten path pavement. There is always a challenge. Mark passes his wealth of knowledge about the history of the places we are seeing. The group of guys that ride are the best. I have many friends that I have met on the SNA rides. I really can't say enough good things here. I look forward to my next SNA ride.
09/08/2019 by Jack Lanto
View On Google
If ADV riding is your thing, this IS the outfit, hands down. Originally growing up in upstate NY with a strict MX background, moving to California opened up all sorts of better options for riding. From single track in incredible forests to desert riding, along with killer roads.. paved and unpaved and more. Ive often asked riders who have traveled the world, where they thought the best riding is, almost all claim California! Mark provides an incredible service taking the adventures all over this great state and further. His knowledge of the area, history, along with TOPO features is pretty awe inspiring. Combine all that with a awesome group of cool, chill, friendly riders and its the total package! Sign up for a ride with SNA, it won't disappoint!!
08/15/2019 by J Hayner
View On Google
Just did the Cerro Gordo ride and it was amazing, in 3 days we traversed multiple summits, experienced awe inspiring views and met some new friends, great group and riders and no problems riding at my own pace.
08/15/2019 by Tony Guardino
View On Google
Cerro gordo ride Aug 2019 - so much fun! Mark has really thought about how he puts rides together. Pick an area and Mark has found the best paved roads/dirt roads/4x4 tracks in the area. New stuff every day and he is full of California's regional history. Great group of people and plenty of laughs.
08/13/2019 by David Waggoner
View On Google
I had a chance to join Mark on the Lost Coast Ride recently. It was my first time with SNA. We had a great group of people and the ride was a real life California amusement park. We saw stunning and remote coast line, toured the big redwoods and followed seldom used wagon trails through the lush coastal forests. It was a relaxed setting with a good pace. Thank you Mark for your efforts in making this a memorable trip.
07/03/2019 by David Hostetter
View On Google
I have ridden on various Sierra Nevada Adventures tours for at least six years, and I look forward to doing many more. Even though I live in the area of most rides, Mark keeps finding amazing roads I've never been on. The riders are always compatible, and even though there are varying skill levels, nobody gets left behind. These rides are a great, safe way to enjoy dual-sport motorcycling, and at the end of the ride, you will have a smile on your face.
03/26/2019 by Carmichael Midas
View On Google
I do belong to couple of motorcycle clubs and ride frequently with many others. But when it comes to discover new routes, people and to challenge myself there is nothing like SNA, very well organized and unique experience, specially if you want to become a better rider.
03/17/2019 by Jav Sanch
View On Google
I went on my first adventure ride with Mark a couple of years ago. Great organization and spirit! Never leave anyone behind! Best way to discover new areas!
03/12/2019 by Yves Gourvennec
View On Google
Sierra Nevada Adventures is an excellent way to see our beautiful state on an adventure/Dual Sport bike. The guided rides take you to all areas of the Sierra Nevada's on mostly one laners and jeep trails deep into areas that I would never known about on my own. The rides always have a history lesson that ties-in the epic views, relics and boom towns we come across. This is a great group of riders that I have become friends with and look forward to each ride for the adventure and the socializing along the way.
03/10/2019 by Stuart Hamilton
View On Google
Well laid out ADV rides involving dirt and pave roads through many Sierra Nevada historic areas. Mark take pains to proof ride areas and ensure that routes are doable by riders. I will be doing his Yosemite ride later this year, as I have not ridden some of the areas he will expose us too.
03/09/2019 by Dean Chaney
View On Google
I have known Mark for a couple of years now and been on several rides with him.He is a wealth of knowledge about the area his rides are in. The rides are well planned and a lot of fun.
03/06/2019 by Floyd Blackmon
View On Google
Great group of riders, always willing to help and you never feel excluded regardless of your level. Plus you get to experience some amazing roads and trails and really discover the beauty and various landscapes California offers. And if you want to improve your riding skills, Mark now offers training sessions. I am very happy I found SNA and highly recommend it to anyone wanting to get adventure riding experience.
03/06/2019 by R Samaha
View On Google
Awesome tours! Very well prepared. Mark is not only a great rider, but he can tell you a lot about the history, formation of landscape and natural wonders of the west.
03/06/2019 by Giovanni Soleti
View On Google
I went on my first ride with SNA-Mark almost a year ago now into Yosemite. It was literally my first ADV ride and I have to admit I was nervous and excited at the same time but more nervous. The ride was as advertised, full of adventure. I had a blast and a smile from ear to ear the whole time! The group of guys that follow SNA are awesome and we always have a great time. No one is ever left behind or feels pressured to ride out of their limits. I’m always amazed about how much Mark knows the history of our states mountain ranges and how passionate he is about the outdoors in general. I attended the Virginia City, Lost City, Bodie, and my fav Death Valley. All amazing rides and I highly recommend you join the next adventure. I’m excited about the ‘19 ride schedule it’s an awesome lineup!
03/05/2019 by MR.SHARK_ 007
View On Google
This is a great way to meet a lot of cool fun people. Have been on a lot of rides with Mark and he will take you on true adventures. If you want to see the gold country and ride trails and roads that you did know were there then come on down. Not only do you get to ride and discover new places you get the History of all the places you visit. Still wondering how Mark remembers all this stuff. Just come for one ride and guarantee that you will want more. Thanks Mark for opening up new horizons for a lot of us. See you on the next ride...….
03/05/2019 by Ninjaro RAM
View On Google
If you want to improve your riding skills.Learn how to fix flats and all types of repairs on the fly.Discover local historical sites and facts ( BORING) "inside joke". I've been going on Marks (SNA) rides for three years.Money well spent.No getting lost,always people to help you with,repairs,to pick up your bike,riding tips, etc.Marks rides are awesome!Even super enduro Mike is learning to ride better,truly a miracle!Your family on your second ride with SNA. Great guys & gals. A BIG THANKS TO MARK
03/05/2019 by Kevin Donovan
View On Google
Never a dull moment on a Sierra Nevada Adventure Ride. Mark knows the Gold Country and the Sierra Nevada Mountains and the many tracks and trails to explore it. Whether it’s a short detour to a mountain lake or lookout or an old mine you’ll be amazed. I’ve been riding with SNA for almost 10 years and can’t recommend it enough. The Bodie and Beyond ride is one my favorites. We set up camp at the Chemung Mine under a full moon which was way cool and a bit spooky. Other stops on this ride were the town of Masonic and Aurora both Ghost Towns which were way cool also. There’s always a new twist or track you get to experience even if you’ve ridden the same ride before. I’m always up for riding with Mark and am looking forward to this years line up.
03/05/2019 by Daniel Paolini
View On Google
Great fun. Rides are excellent and the group of riders are a great bunch to hang with
03/05/2019 by Eric Berg
View On Google
Mark puts together some great dual sport rides in beautiful places and his talks at the historical stops makes these rides unique and super fun! I have met many good people on his rides who I now call friends. Just wish I had more free time to participate in all his rides. Hope to meet you on the next one!
03/05/2019 by Jon Greany
View On Google
What a great job Mark does with his rides. I have been on a few rides and would highly recommend them. You can ride at your own pace and the group always has a great time and explores some fun places. Come join in the fun :-)
03/05/2019 by Gary Barnes
View On Google
Had an Amazing time.! Even days latter Iam Still talking about it & very much looking forward to the next trip & the next & the next. If you own an adventure bike you Need to join this group & if you don't own one get one & join this group.! Expand your possibilities, live your adventure don't watch it on TV!
03/05/2019 by Patrick McArn
View On Google
I've been riding with Mark and the SNA group for a little over 2 years. There are many different rides to different locations throughout the year. Some are single-day rides and some multi-day rides. Mark is always fun to ride with.
03/05/2019 by Karl Wall
View On Google